Personal Perception

When I was younger, before I worked a full time job I never quite understood the phrase ‘waking up on the wrong side of the bed.’ I used to think to myself that your outlook on life is easily altered regardless of how you decided to start the day.

I’ve found that I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Today has been a perfect example of waking up on the right side of the bed. I woke up with plenty of time to spare before I needed to leave for work. I was well rested and the sun even decided to make an appearance in our typically gray area. Work has been rather easy to cope with and nothing has been able to sour my mood.

Yet if I were to have started this same day in a foul mood, my mood would sour at each of these points. I would wake up early and curse that I needed to be at work soon. My well rested state would be attributed to my own laziness and instead of enjoying the beautiful day I would be lamenting the fact that I was at work instead of being able to enjoy it as I would like.

I once heard the phrase ” Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% what you make of it.” I believe that to be rather accurate. Turning your mood from resentful to pleasant filled is significantly more challenging that it would appear.

At this point in life I havn’t found the answer to that problem, I would imagine for everyone it would be different. Personally I like to turn to my faith, when you consider everything in the light of God it tends to brighten my perception significantly. Also considering my love for both my wife and my son helps turn my gloom around.

There are a myraid of ways to combat this trouble but the first part is to recongize it. I know the next time I wake up on the wrong side of the bed, I am going to try to remember that it’s only as wrong as I think it to be…easier said than done of course.

One thought on “Personal Perception

Leave a Reply

