Lack of Appreciation

Taking for granted

Took for granted money
Thought I was so cunning
Borrowed a dollar for ten tomorrow
Paying it back has brought great sorrow

Took for granted friends
Thought they’re just a trend
Favors they gave to an ungrateful soul
Friends no longer, this heart full of holes

Took for granted laws
Thought they’re full of flaws
I wanted and took giving no mind
Until the day they robbed blind

Everything in life I never respected
Even my heath, from me has defected
With nothing left, now I know
I was my own life’s greatest foe

© Ryan Mathisen

Leave a Reply

