For another mother

A poem written for my co-worker to his wife. Something I couldn’t have written without my wife as inspiration.

For Another Mother

Each and every moment I’m away
Working the straw, lifting the hay
I think about my beautiful wife
How lucky I am that she’s in my life.

A wonderful mom, both kind and sweet
Just thinking of her tingles my feet
Her beautiful body turns my legs numb
Soon after that the butterflies come
Thinking of her makes me warm me inside
My most trusted friend in whom I confide

The time cannot come a moment too soon
When she’s by my side alone in our room
The empty room would fill with laughter
This moment away is what I’m after

 

© Ryan Mathisen

Leave a Reply

